The Minister for Rural and Community Development, Michael Ring TD, has announced that the Government has agreed at Cabinet to the appointment of six Directors to the board of Pobal. The Minister welcomes the new board members, who were selected through a process overseen by the Public Appointments Service, and values the skills sets they will bring in supporting the work of Pobal.  The full complement of the board now stands at 17 members.

The following new members were appointed to the board:

  1. Patrick Joseph Cleere
  2. Patricia Ball-O’Keefe
  3. Ann Hanley

The following members were re-appointed to the board:

  1. Dr. Deiric O’Broin
  2. Helen Keogh
  3. John Redmond

I would like to thank the outgoing board members, Tommy McGuire and Bill Cotter, for their contributions in their years of service to the board, and to Pobal. I acknowledge their assistance in helping Pobal have a real and tangible impact on thousands of people across the country through the programmes that they manage on behalf of Government. Minister Ring

Pobal is a not-for-profit company that manages programmes on behalf of the Irish Government and the EU.  It works on behalf of Government to support communities and local agencies toward achieving social inclusion, reconciliation and equality, particularly in disadvantaged areas.