New members appointed to the Board of Pobal by Minister Michael Ring

Mr Michael Ring TD, the Minister for Rural and Community Development, has announced that the Government has agreed, at Cabinet, to the appointment of four Directors to the board of Pobal.

The Minister welcomed the new board members, who were selected through a process overseen by the Public Appointments Service, and values the skill set they will bring in supporting the work of Pobal.

Minister Ring said:

“I would like to thank the outgoing board members, Mary Mooty and Catherine Travers, and commend them for the contributions in their years of service to the board, and to Pobal. I acknowledge their assistance in helping Pobal which has had a real and tangible impact on thousands of people across the country through the programmes it manages on behalf of Government.”

The following new members were appointed to the board:

  1. Ciarán Reid
  2. Lindsay Malone

The following members were re-appointed to the board:

  1. Tom Lavin
  2. Molly Buckley

Following the announcement, Chairperson of Pobal, Dr. Deiric O’Broin said:

“I am delighted to welcome Ciaran Reid and Lindsay Malone to the Board of Pobal. I look forward to working alongside them as they take on their new roles and work on behalf of Government to enhance social inclusion and equality for those individuals, groups and communities that are most marginalised.

On behalf of my colleagues on the Board and the management and staff of Pobal I would like to pass on sincere thanks and gratitude to our outgoing colleagues, Mary Mooty and Catherine Travers who have played instrumental roles in guiding the work of Pobal”.

The four Directors will assume their role with effect from the 21st October when the 2019 Pobal AGM takes place.